Ultrasounds aren’t just for babies

I actually did think you only had ultrasounds when you were pregnant until I had my first one three-ish years ago. This was my third ultrasound, so I’m basically an old pro now.

picture014

Look! As the ultrasound caption helpfully says, it’s my “Long spleen w/kid.” 

I had my second spleen ultrasound to check up on what my sister affectionately terms my B.A.S. It hurt. I don’t know if I’m imaging things since the doctor told me that splenomegaly (enlargement of the spleen) was a possibility, but it hurt like the very dickens when she moved the thing over my side.

On the plus side, the tech was very nice when I asked for a picture. She didn’t act like it was the stupidest thing she’d ever heard (likely), and she picked out “a good one” (I couldn’t tell the difference) and explained what everything was. It still looks like blobs to me.

Here’s a funny thing, though: my cancer doctor told me to be sure I got the ultrasound at least 10 days before I came to see him. The receptionist wouldn’t let me schedule the appointment any earlier than last week, though, and she tried to convince me that August 30 was “definitely 10 days before” September 5. It was strange. But if the doctor gets mad at me I’ll just throw her right under the bus.

Also, even though it’s only tangentially related to the fact that I have essential thrombocythemia, I visited a church this weekend and the pastor mentioned the verse that says “For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow.” Only the pastor kept pronouncing it “morrow,” which made me laugh.

I’m possibly starting chemo this week, unless my doctor changes his mind based on the tests or something. I’ll post about that later. In the meantime, I have to thank my friends and family again. I have been immeasurably encouraged by the kind messages I’ve received and the conversations I’ve had. It’s giving me strength in the midst of an emotionally draining few weeks to know that so many people are praying for me. Thank you all so much. I can’t imagine going through this alone.

Leave a Reply

