This barely qualifies as a post…

Things are sort of kicking into high gear right now for me, but I wanted to share two pieces of news.

Bad news:

So I had a blood test.

1,954,000 platelets per microliter of blood.

By far my worst test ever. I went up 400,000 in two months, which is kind of ridiculous. I mean, my oncologist was all, “I think you’re going to plateau at 1,500,000 for a while!” and my cancer apparently took that as a personal challenge. You know, if cancer had a personality. So that’s terrifying, because now I feel like a walking blood clot waiting to happen. My doctor hasn’t bothered to contact me since the test, so I don’t know what he thinks about all this, but I also don’t really care because I’m trying to find a new doctor anyway. I guess it evens out.

Now that’s out of the way…

Good news!!!!!!!:

I got a job! A full-time job!

I’m on my second week, and I really like it thus far. It’s beginner data entry stuff. It happens to be fabulous because 1. I have a swivel chair on wheels; 2. I can see the lake from the office window on sunny days; 3. pop is only $.35, which might be a silly thing to mention, but ginger ale is delicious and there are lots of days when I’m dealing with nausea, so it’s a perk; 4. I have a nice train + shuttle ride to and from work that means TONS OF READING TIME. Also music time, Cabin Pressure time, snacking time, and people-creeping time. Seriously, people on trains are pretty fun to watch. Basically it’s time when I can’t just sit on Pinterest and daydream about making cupcakes 24/7, otherwise known as Mandatory Productive Time.

There are innumerable reasons I am grateful to my friend who also works at the same company and got me an interview. I was going a little stir crazy. But now I have a job! Of course now I’m wondering when I’ll be able to go to the doctor and what will happen when I start chemo, and oh my goodness, do I need to immediately start chemo?

But here is what is true: God is good! I have a job and I have 1,954,000 platelets per microliter, and I have a seriously tall pile of books to read on the train. God has been faithful to me through everything: diagnosis, unemployment, cancer, and now starting my new job and all the anxiety attached to that. Thank you so much for your prayers, and I’ll let you know if/when I go over 2,000,000. Sounds like a good excuse to buy mwahself 2,000,000 donuts and eat them all at once! Don’t doubt me…

One comment on “This barely qualifies as a post…

  1. Becca says:

    Donuts! Books! This post includes good things 🙂 As for the not so good, we’ll just bury those in prayer… LOVE YOU, KELL.

Leave a Reply

