Cancer Update

I generally try not to write posts this close together (2 in a week! My new record), but I’ll soothe my conscience with the reflection that this is short and you have been in no way compelled to read this. I had my 3 month test/follow-up with my oncologist.

All I really have to share is that my platelets went down slightly, under 2,000,000 for the first time in over a year. So no chemo yet! Also, due to advances in testing since I was diagnosed, they were recently able to detect and identify the mutation that is responsible for my ET, which is cool. It’s called the MPL W515 mutation, and it is apparently the second most common mutation linked to ET.

On the downside, it turns out that I’m pretty anemic, so that’s a bummer. It also explains part of the reason I’ve been feeling so entirely exhausted lately.

If you could pray that my body would respond well to the iron supplements, as well as for strength to make it through the next few crazy weeks of work, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you again for all your prayers and encouragements!

One comment on “Cancer Update

  1. Kelley:

    Sorry that I am so late to discover your blog. I am praying for you and following your blog with great interest because my wife also has high platelets.

    Dave

Leave a Reply

