A Small Thing

Terrible days happen sometimes. I had one today. Lots of chaos and upheaval and loud voices and change, none of which I’m super good at handling. I had a couple mini panic attacks, which are basically like full-fledged panic attacks but without the chest pain and the hyperventilating. There’s just a lot going on right now that does not contribute to healthy peace of mind.

And work is crazy and it’s tax season and I’ve been really sick and I’m elbow deep in an especially difficult season of depression and and and and and and.

So I am very, very grateful–at this time when all I can pray is Come, Lord Jesus!–for the blessing of His hands and feet. Because I came home from work angry and exhausted and empty and sick, and I all I wanted to do was go to bed. But the Holy Spirit said, no, stick it out.

And my small group came over and we ate together and prayed together and loved each other. The Body of Christ is a beautiful thing. The encouragement of His love and His presence where two or more are gathered in His name is a beautiful thing.

So here at the end of my terrible day, I can’t stop thanking God for my small group, for my church, for the community of believers that uplifts me and challenges me, for my brothers and sisters in Christ who I don’t know yet, for the great cloud of witnesses that surrounds us, and most of all for His Son. I’m humbled and encouraged and able to run another day.

Great is His faithfulness.

2 comments on “A Small Thing

  1. Praying for you sweet girl.

  2. Tamara Vickery says:

    Thank you for sharing your heart again and again for us. Many prayers and love to you ❤

Leave a Reply

